Page path:

Honduras: WE ARE OCEAN

What is at issue:

WE ARE OCEAN is an interdisciplinary art project that brings together indigenous leaders, artists, students, scientists, policy makers, art collectors, teachers, and curators to raise awareness and dialogue about the ecological state of the ocean and the role of humans in its current and future state.

In 2019 and 2020, WE ARE OCEAN brought together the European cities of Berlin, Venice and Marseille to begin the interactive journey.

Through this international project, ARTPORT aims to reflect on various issues related to the causes and effects of human-induced changes in the oceans. It will illustrate how all of us, citizens of all countries, both cause and are affected by the state of the ocean, but can also potentially contribute to positive change.

WE ARE OCEAN Honduras brings together traditional knowledge from different parts of the country and connects it to the people, including in terms of ocean conservation and the link between a healthy ocean and a healthy land.

The project will reflect what the country stands for at the moment, analyze the environmental evolution of the last 50 years, and give a voice to indigenous peoples to show us their perspective in the context of a healthy ocean.

What's happening now:

The implementation of the project is complicated by Covid19 but should be done by the end of 2022.

The topics:

  • Interconnections/connections of all seas and oceans
  • The indigenous peoples of Honduras and their connection to ocean protection (Garífunas, Nahua, Chortís, Lencas, Maya-Chortís, Misquítos, Criollos, Peches, Tawahakas, Tolupanes) n Indigenous protection of land and sea in Honduras
  • Discover the environmental marine history of Honduras
  • Monocultures versus biodiversity
  • Colonialism and its effects on ocean health
  • Fruit companies and the local fishermen
  • How is the forest connected with the sea?
  • How can traditional knowledge teach us a better system?
  • Sustainable fishing (connected to the project “Fish Forever” by RARE Foundation

What we have achieved:

More information:

More information

Seitenpfad:

Honduras: WE ARE OCEAN

Worum es geht:

WE ARE OCEAN ist ein interdisziplinäres Kunstprojekt, das indigene Führungspersönlichkeiten, Künstler, Studenten, Wissenschaftler, politische Entscheidungsträger, Kunstsammler, Lehrer und Kuratoren zusammenbringt, um das Bewusstsein für den ökologischen Zustand des Ozeans und die Rolle des Menschen in seinem aktuellen und zukünftigen Zustand zu schärfen und einen Dialog darüber zu führen.

In den Jahren 2019 und 2020 brachte WE ARE OCEAN die europäischen Städte Berlin, Venedig und Marseille zusammen, um die interaktive Reise zu beginnen.

Mit diesem internationalen Projekt will ARTPORT über verschiedene Fragen zu den Ursachen und Auswirkungen der vom Menschen verursachten Veränderungen der Ozeane nachdenken. Es wird veranschaulichen, wie wir alle, Bürgerinnen und Bürger aller Länder, den Zustand des Ozeans sowohl verursachen als auch davon betroffen sind, aber auch potenziell zu einem positiven Wandel beitragen können.

WE ARE OCEAN Honduras bringt traditionelles Wissen aus verschiedenen Teilen des Landes zusammen und verbindet es mit den Menschen, auch in Bezug auf den Schutz der Meere und die Verbindung zwischen einem gesunden Meer und einem gesunden Land.

Das Projekt wird widerspiegeln, wofür das Land im Moment steht, die Umweltentwicklung der letzten 50 Jahre analysieren und den indigenen Völkern eine Stimme geben, um uns ihre Perspektive im Zusammenhang mit einem gesunden Ozean zu zeigen.

Was gerade passiert:

Die Umsetzung des Vorhabens ist durch Covid19 kompliziert, soll jedoch bis Ende 2022 erfolgt sein.

Die Themen:

  • Verflechtungen/Verbindungen aller Meere und Ozeane
  • Die indigenen Völker von Honduras und ihre Verbindung zum Meeresschutz (Garífunas, Nahua, Chortís, Lencas, Maya-Chortís, Misquítos, Criollos, Peches, Tawahakas, Tolupanes)
  • Indigener Schutz von Land und Meer in Honduras
  • Entdeckung der ökologischen Meeresgeschichte von Honduras
  • Monokulturen versus Artenvielfalt
  • Kolonialismus und seine Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit der Meere
  • Fruchtkonzerne und die lokalen Fischer
  • Wie ist der Wald mit dem Meer verbunden?
  • Wie kann uns traditionelles Wissen ein besseres System lehren?
  • Nachhaltige Fischerei (in Verbindung mit dem Projekt "Fish Forever" der RARE Foundation)

Was wir bisher erreicht haben:

Weitere Informationen:

Mehr Information