Page path:

International: Project Pressure

What is at issue:

Project Pressure is a non-profit organisation set out to generate the world’s first Glacier Atlas in collaboration with World Glacier Monitoring Service (WGMS) and National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).

Project Pressure benefits educational, cultural and science sectors, and will continue to do so for generations to come. The ongoing mission is to document and publicise the world’s vanishing and receding glaciers, to depict firsthand the environmental impact of climate change and create useful data for scientific use. Beyond accessing a collection of incredible, free-to-use images, scientists, researchers, educators and local communities can contribute to the project by uploading new or archival images – generating a unique open source resource of comparative photographs. A combination of inspiration, education and participation, the project is engaging a mass audience to inspire behavioural change.

Projekt Pressure documents history before it‘s too late. During the next decade many glaciers will retreat or disappear. As an historic project the relevance of Project Pressure will  unfortunately increase as this occurs. The project will attract attention from current younger generations, who will grow up experiencing the consequences of climate change. This documentation of the glaciers before they melt, will provide a visual archive of a vanished world for future generations andunderscore the importance of maintaining the balance of the global ecosystem. 

"Project Pressure is an ambitious project operating on a global scale. The principal goal of Project Pressure is to document the world’s changing glaciers, and to record first hand the environmental impact of climate change."
 
Klaus Thymann

What's happening now:

Helheim-Gletscher Grönland

Under the title Vanishing Glaciers, Project Pressure will be presented at the Jockey Club Museum of Climate Change – Hong Kong

Walking through the museum audiences can see photographs by the artists; Corey Arnold, Michael Benson, Scott Conarroe, Peter Funch, Simon Norfolk and Klaus Thymann. The walls are covered in full height printed canvases with glacier images shown in a saloon style layout. As you walk through the museum you pass through the seven continents, experiencing all types of glaciers be that on top of volcanoes, tidal-glaciers connecting with the sea or classic valley glaciers.

What we have achieved:

  • In June 2011, 16 glaciers were photographically documented in Alaska.
  • In mid-August 2012 we went to East Greenland, where about 25 glaciers were documented.
  • In September 2013, Corey Arnold traveled to Spitsbergen to take photos of the glaciers on Spitsbergen.
  • In 2015, three other areas of southern Greenland were documented and two previous expeditions completed.

More information:

Who has done it

 Project Pressure

continue

More information

Ocean & climate

continue

Seitenpfad:

International: Project Pressure

Worum es geht:

Projekt Pressure ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation und erstellt den weltweit ersten Gletscher-Atlas zusammen mit dem World Glacier Monitoring Service (WGMS) und der National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).

Ein grundlegendes Prinzip und Teil der Projekt-DNA ist der Open-Source-Ansatz. Der Gletscher-Atlas aus Hunderten von Bildern sowie das gesamte Archiv werden für jeden kostenlos online zugänglich sein. Hochauflösende Bilder werden zur Verfügung gestellt und können für wissenschaftliche sowie für alle pädagogischen Zwecke an Schulen und Universitäten auf der ganzen Welt auch in gedruckter Form als Lehrmaterial verwendet werden. Darüber hinaus wird NGOs und Umweltorganisationen eine lizenzfreie Nutzung aller Bilder aus dem Gletscher-Atlas gewährt. Wissenschaftler erhalten vollen Zugriff auf das Archiv, das zurzeit in Zusammenarbeit mit mehreren wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen aufgebaut wird und das mit Daten von wissenschaftlichem Wert wie Datum, GPS-Koordinaten und Bild-Metadaten hohe Anforderungen erfüllen wird.

Projekt Pressure dokumentiert Geschichte, bevor es zu spät ist. In den nächsten zehn Jahren werden sich viele Gletscher weiter zurück ziehen oder ganz verschwinden. Die Relevanz des geschichtlichen Projekts wird sich mit diesem Vorgang leider weiter erhöhen. Der Gletscheratlas richtet sich an die heutigen Generationen, die die Konsequenzen der Klimawandels erleben werden. Die Dokumentation der Gletscher bevor sie schmelzen, wird künftigen Generationen ein visuelles Archiv einer verschwundenen Welt bereitstellen und die Bedeutung der Erhaltung des Gleichgewichts des globalen Ökosystems unterstreichen. 

Weitere Projektdetails

 

"Projekt Pressure ist ein ehrgeiziges Projekt auf globaler Ebene. Es geht um die Dokumentation der weltweit sich verändernden Gletscher und die direkte Aufzeichnung der Auswirkungen des Klimawandels."

Klaus Thymann

Was gerade passiert:

Helheim-Gletscher Grönland

Unter dem Titel Vanishing Glaciers wird Project Pressure im Jockey Club Museum für Klimawandel - Hongkong vorgestellt.

Beim Gang durch das Museum kann das Publikum Fotos von den Künstlern sehen: Corey Arnold, Michael Benson, Scott Conarroe, Peter Funch, Simon Norfolk und Klaus Thymann. Die Wände sind mit bedruckten Leinwänden in voller Höhe mit Gletscherbildern im Saloon-Stil bedeckt. Wenn Sie durch das Museum gehen, fahren Sie durch die sieben Kontinente und erleben alle Arten von Gletschern, sei es auf Vulkanen, Gezeitengletschern, die sich mit dem Meer verbinden, oder klassischen Talgletschern.

Was wir bisher erreicht haben:

  • Im Juni 2011 wurden in Alaska 16 Gletscher fotografisch dokumentiert.
  • Mitte August 2012 ging es nach Ostgrönland, wo rund 25 Gletscher dokumentiert wurden.
  • Im September 2013 reiste Corey Arnold nach Spitzbergen, um Fotos der Gletscher auf Spitzbergen zu machen.
  • 2015 wurden drei weitere Bereiche des südlichen Grönlands dokumentiert und zwei frühere Expeditionen ergänzt.

Weitere Informationen:

Wer hat's gemacht

 Project Pressure

weiter

Mehr Information

Ozean & Klima

weiter